Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Langkawi Island

Langkawi, formally renowned as Langkawi, the Jewel of Kedah is an archipelago of 99 islands (an additional 5 temporary islands are disclosed at reduced surge) in the Andaman ocean, some 30 km off the mainland seaboard area of northwestern Malaysia. The isles are a part of the state of Kedah, which is adjacent to the Thai boundary. On July 15, 2008, Sultan Abdul Halim of Kedah had permitted to the change of title to Langkawi Permata Kedah in conjunction with his Golden Jubilee commemoration. By far the biggest of the islands is the eponymous Pulau Langkawi with a community of some 45,000, the only other inhabited isle being close by Pulau Tuba. Langkawi is furthermore an administrative locality with the village of Kuah as the capital and biggest town. Langkawi is a duty-free island.

No comments:

Post a Comment